Precinct Official's

Jake Heandin

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

(Write-in vote, if any)

OFFICIAL BALLOT **GENERAL ELECTION** MARION COUNTY, IOWA **TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008 KNOXVILLE TOWNSHIP**

INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this:

Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval. **FEDERAL OFFICES** STATE OFFICES Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution: Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the center column. For President and Vice President For State Senator Constitutional Amendment: on the back of (Vote for no more than one team) District 36 this ballot, beginning in the right hand column. (Vote for no more than one) Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware Deb Ballalatak (DEM) PARTISAN OFFICES John McCain, of Arizona (REP) Paul McKinley (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING (Write-in vote, if any) Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) For State Representative Straight party voting. To vote for all Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee District 71 candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in (Vote for no more than one) front of the party name. Not all parties have Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina → Pat Van Zante (DEM) straight party vote does not include votes for nonpartisan offices, judges or questions Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada **Straight Party Voting** (Write-in vote, if any) (Vote for no more than one) Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) **COUNTY OFFICES** Robert Moses, of Maryland Democratic Party (DEM) Republican Party (REP) Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF) For Board of Supervisors Matt Gonzalez, of California Socialist Workers Party (SWP) At Large (Vote for no more than two) Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU) OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS Stewart A. Alexander, of California Jerry James Weldon Sr. (DEM) The following organizations have James Harris, of California (SWP) ─ Paul Kockler (DEM) nominated candidates for only one office: Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey Sam L Nichols (REP) **Constitution Party (CON)** ☐ Jim Kingery (REP) (Write-in vote for President, if any) Green Party (GRN) Libertarian (LIB) (Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote for Vice President, if any) Party for Socialism and Liberation (Write-in vote, if any) For United States Senator (PSL) (Vote for no more than one) **For County Auditor** Peace and Freedom (PAF) (Vote for no more than one) ☐ Tom Harkin (DEM) Socialist Party USA (SPU) Christopher Reed (REP) ☐ Jake Grandia (REP) (Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote, if any) For United States Representative **For County Sheriff Third District** (Vote for no more than one) (Vote for no more than one) Tim Cox (DEM)

TURN THE BALLOT OVER

☐ Leonard L. Boswell (DEM)

Frank V Forrestal (SWP)

(W<u>rite-in vote, if any)</u>

NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT	PUBLIC MEASURE Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote
•	Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	upon any question submitted upon this
Knoxville Township		ballot fill in the oval in front of the word
For Township Trustee (Vote for no more than two)	Supreme Court	"YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval in front of the word "NO."
Robert V. Crozier	Shall the following judges of the Supreme	
Myles Murphy	Court be retained in office?	1 Shall the following amendment to the
Myles Mulphy	Daryl L. Hecht	Constitution be adopted?
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	Summerus Changes the language that
(Write-in vote, if any)		Summary: Changes the language that describes a person who cannot legally
For Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioner		vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a
(Vote for no more than three)	Brent Appel	person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote."
Jack Bensink	Yes	Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution o
■ Janet Petty	□ No	the State of lowa is repealed and the
■ Vernon Boot	Mark S. Cady	following adopted in lieu thereof: DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A
(Write-in vote, if any)		person adjudged mentally incompetent to
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	vote or a person convicted of any infamous crime shall not be entitled to the
(Write-in vote, if any)	□ No	privilege of an elector.
For County Agricultural Extension Council (Vote for no more than four)	Court of Appeals	✓ Yes ○ No
□ Craig Greene	Shall the following judges of the Court of	
■	Appeals be retained in office?	
■ Nancy Harsin	Rosemary Shaw Sackett	
Karen M. Ackley	Yes	
■ Cindi Dale	□ No	
(Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisenhauer	
(Write-in vote, if any)		
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	
(Write-in vote, if any)	○ No	
For County Agricultural Extension Council To Fill Vacancy	Terry L. Huitink	
(Vote for no more than one)	Yes	
Mark Drost	No	
]
(Write-in vote, if any)	District 5A Court	
	Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?	
' 	Dale B. Hagen	
1	Yes	
1	○ No	
1	William H. Joy	
1	Yes	
•	○ No	
]

TURN THE BALLOT OVER