Jake Heandin County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections **OFFICIAL BALLOT GENERAL ELECTION MARION COUNTY, IOWA TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008 CITY OF HARVEY INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS** To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this: Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval. **FEDERAL OFFICES STATE OFFICES** Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution: Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning For President and Vice President For State Senator Constitutional Amendment: on the back of (Vote for no more than one team) District 36 this ballot, beginning in the right hand column. (Vote for no more than one) **Barack Obama**, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware Deb Ballalatak (DEM) PARTISAN OFFICES **John McCain**, of Arizona (REP) Paul McKinley (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska **STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING** (Write-in vote, if any) Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) For State Representative Straight party voting. To vote for all Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee District 72 candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in (Vote for no more than one) front of the party name. Not all parties have Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina ◯ James Demichelis Jr. (DEM) straight party vote does not include votes for Richard D. Arnold (REP) nonpartisan offices, judges or questions. Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada **Straight Party Voting** ) (Write-in vote, if any) (Vote for no more than one) Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) **COUNTY OFFICES** Robert Moses, of Maryland Democratic Party (DEM) Republican Party (REP) Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF) For Board of Supervisors Matt Gonzalez, of California Socialist Workers Party (SWP) At Large (Vote for no more than two) Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU) **OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS** Stewart A. Alexander, of California Paul Kockler (DEM) The following organizations have **Jerry James Weldon Sr.** (DEM) James Harris, of California (SWP) nominated candidates for only one office: Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey **Jim Kingery** (REP) **Constitution Party (CON) Sam L Nichols** (REP) (Write-in vote for President, if any) (Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote for Vice President, if any) Party for Socialism and Liberation ) (Write-in vote, if any) For United States Senator (Vote for no more than one) **For County Auditor** Peace and Freedom (PAF) (Vote for no more than one) **Tom Harkin** (DEM) Socialist Party USA (SPU) Christopher Reed (REP) **Jake Grandia** (REP) (Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote, if any) For United States Representative For County Sheriff **Third District** (Vote for no more than one) (Vote for no more than one) C Leonard L. Boswell (DEM) Ronald Goemaat (REP) C Kim Schmett (REP) ) (Write-in vote, if any) Frank V Forrestal (SWP)

Precinct Official's

in the center column.

Green Party (GRN) Libertarian (LIB)

(PSL)

## **TURN THE BALLOT OVER**

(Write-in vote, if any)

NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling	PUBLIC MEASURE Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote
For Soil & Water Conservation	in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	upon any question submitted upon this ballot fill in the oval in front of the word , "YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval
District Commissioner     (Vote for no more than three)	Supreme Court	in front of the word "NO."
Jack Bensink	Shall the following judges of the Supreme Court be retained in office?	1 Shell the following emendment to the
<ul> <li>Janet Petty</li> <li>Vernon Boot</li> </ul>	Daryl L. Hecht	Shall the following amendment to the Constitution be adopted?
■ (Write-in vote, if any)	◯ Yes	<b>Summary:</b> Changes the language that describes a person who cannot legally
(Write-in vote, if any)	No	vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a person adjudged mentally incompetent to
For County Agricultural Extension Council	Brent Appel	vote."
(Vote for no more than four)		Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution of the State of Iowa is repealed and the
<ul> <li>Craig Greene</li> <li>Kisha Jahner</li> </ul>	No No	following adopted in lieu thereof: DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A
■ O Nancy Harsin	Mark S. Cady	person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote or a person convicted of any
<ul> <li>Karen M. Ackley</li> <li>Cindi Dale</li> </ul>	☐ Yes	infamous crime shall not be entitled to the
Cilici Dale     (Write-in vote, if any)	No     Court of Appeals	privilege of an elector.
■ (Write-in vote, if any)	Shall the following judges of the Court of	◯ No
(Write-in vote, if any)	Appeals be retained in office?	
For County Agricultural Extension Council	Rosemary Shaw Sackett	
To Fill Vacancy (Vote for no more than one)		
Mark Drost		
■ (Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisenhauer	
	Yes No	
	Terry L. Huitink	
	<ul><li>─ Yes</li><li>─ No</li></ul>	
	District 5A Court	
	Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?	
	Dale B. Hagen	
-	⊂ Yes	
-	William H. Joy	
	<ul><li>◯ Yes</li><li>◯ No</li></ul>	
-		

## **TURN THE BALLOT OVER**