Jake Heandhi

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

OFFICIAL BALLOT GENERAL ELECTION MARION COUNTY, IOWA TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008 CITY OF MELCHER - DALLAS

Precinct Official's Initials

INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this: Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution:	FEDERAL OFFICES	STATE OFFICES
Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the center column. Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column.	For President and Vice President (Vote for no more than one team) Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware	For State Senator District 36 (Vote for no more than one) Deb Ballalatak (DEM)
PARTISAN OFFICES	John McCain, of Arizona (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska	
STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING	Sarah Fahili, of Alaska	(Write-in vote, if any)
Straight party voting. To vote for all candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the next party of the state of the state.	Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee	For State Representative District 72 (Vote for no more than one)
front of the party name. Not all parties have nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a straight party vote does not include votes for	Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina	— James Demichelis Jr. (DEM)
nonpartisan offices, judges or questions.	Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada	Richard D. Arnold (REP)
Straight Party Voting (Vote for no more than one)	Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL)	COUNTY OFFICES
Democratic Party (DEM)	Robert Moses, of Maryland	
Republican Party (REP)	Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF)	For Board of Supervisors
─ Socialist Workers Party (SWP)	Matt Gonzalez, of California	At Large
OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS	Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU) Stewart A. Alexander, of California	(Vote for no more than two)
The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office:	James Harris, of California (SWP) Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey	Paul Kockler (DEM) Sam L Nichols (REP)
Constitution Party (CON) Green Party (GRN)	(Write-in vote for President, if any)	
Libertarian (LIB) Party for Socialism and Liberation	(Write-in vote for Vice President, if any)	Write-in vote, if any)
(PSL)	For United States Senator (Vote for no more than one)	Write-in vote, if any)
Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU)	Tom Harkin (DEM)	For County Auditor (Vote for no more than one)
	Christopher Reed (REP)	Jake Grandia (REP)
	(Write-in vote, if any)	(Write-in vote, if any)
	For United States Representative Third District (Vote for no more than one)	For County Sheriff (Vote for no more than one) Tim Cox (DEM)
	C Leonard L. Boswell (DEM)	Ronald Goemaat (REP)
	Kim Schmett (REP)	(Write-in vote, if any)
	Frank V Forrestal (SWP)	
	Write-in vote, if any)	

TURN THE BALLOT OVER

NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT	PUBLIC MEASURE
	Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling	Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote
	in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	upon any question submitted upon this ballot fill in the oval in front of the word
For Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioner		"YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval
(Vote for no more than three)	Supreme Court	in front of the word "NO."
Jack Bensink	Shall the following judges of the Supreme Court be retained in office?	1
Janet Petty		Shall the following amendment to the
Vernon Boot	Daryl L. Hecht	Constitution be adopted?
(Write-in vote, if any)	│	Summary: Changes the language that
(Write-in vote, if any)	<u>No</u>	describes a person who cannot legally vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a
Write-in vote, if any)	Brent Appel	person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote."
For County Agricultural Extension Council		
(Vote for no more than four)		Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution of the State of Iowa is repealed and the
 Craig Greene Kisha Jahner 		following adopted in lieu thereof:
 Kisna Janner Nancy Harsin 	Mark S. Cady	DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A person adjudged mentally incompetent to
■ C Karen M. Ackley		vote or a person convicted of any
Cindi Dale		infamous crime shall not be entitled to the privilege of an elector.
■ (Write-in vote, if any)	Court of Appeals	Yes
(Write-in vote, if any)		No
■ (Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote, if any)	Shall the following judges of the Court of Appeals be retained in office?	
(Write-in vote, if any)		
For County Agricultural Extension Council	Rosemary Shaw Sackett	
To Fill Vacancy	☐ Yes	
(Vote for no more than one)	No	
Mark Drost	Larry J. Eisenhauer	
(Write-in vote, if any)		
	Ves No	
	Terry L. Huitink	
-	⊂ Yes	
-	◯ No	
	District 5A Court	
	Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?	
	Dale B. Hagen	
-	◯ Yes	
-	◯ No	
	William H. Joy	
	◯ Yes	
-	◯ No	
-		

TURN THE BALLOT OVER