Precinct Official's

Jake Translin

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

OFFICIAL BALLOT **GENERAL ELECTION** MARION COUNTY, IOWA **TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008 CLAY TOWNSHIP**

INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this:

Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

FEDERAL OFFICES STATE OFFICES Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution: Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning For President and Vice President For State Senator in the center column. Constitutional Amendment: on the back of District 36 (Vote for no more than one team) this ballot, beginning in the right hand column. (Vote for no more than one) Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden **PARTISAN OFFICES** John McC Sarah Pal STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING Chuck Ba Straight party voting. To vote for all Darrell L. candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the party name. Not all parties have Cynthia N nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a Rosa Cler straight party vote does not include votes for nonpartisan offices, judges or questions Wayne A. **Straight Party Voting** (Vote for no more than one) **◯** Gloria La

Robert Mo Democratic Party (DEM) Republican Party (REP) Ralph Na Matt Gonz Socialist Workers Party (SWP)

OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS

The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office:

Constitution Party (CON) Green Party (GRN) Libertarian (LIB) Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL)

Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU)

Darack Charma, or minioto (BEIII)		
Joe Biden, of Delaware	Deb Ballalatak (DEM)	
John McCain, of Arizona (REP)	Paul McKinley (REP)	
Sarah Palin, of Alaska	(Write-in vote, if any)	
Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON)	For State Representative	
Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee	District 72	
Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN)	(Vote for no more than one)	
Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina	James Demichelis Jr. (DEM)	
Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB)	Richard D. Arnold (REP)	
Wayne A. Root, of Nevada		
	(Write-in vote, if any)	
Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) Robert Moses, of Maryland	COUNTY OFFICES	
Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF)	For Poord of Currentings	
Matt Gonzalez, of California	For Board of Supervisors At Large	
	(Vote for no more than two)	
Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU)	(vote for no more than the)	
Stewart A. Alexander, of California	Paul Kockler (DEM)	
James Harris, of California (SWP)	◯ Jerry James Weldon Sr. (DEM)	
Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey	◯ Jim Kingery (REP)	
(Write-in vote for President, if any)	Sam L Nichols (REP)	
(Write-in vote for Vice President, if any)	(Write-in vote, if any)	
For United States Senator	(Write-in vote, if any)	
(Vote for no more than one)	For County Auditor	
◯ Tom Harkin (DEM)	(Vote for no more than one)	
Christopher Reed (REP)	Jake Grandia (REP)	
(Write-in vote, if any)	(Write-in vote, if any)	
For United States Representative	For County Sheriff	
Third District	(Vote for no more than one)	

Tim Cox (DEM)

(Write-in vote, if any)

TURN THE BALLOT OVER

(Vote for no more than one)

Leonard L. Boswell (DEM)

Frank V Forrestal (SWP)

(Write-in vote, if any)

NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT	PUBLIC MEASURE Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote
•	Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	upon any question submitted upon this
Clay Township		ballot fill in the oval in front of the word "YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval
For Township Trustee (Vote for no more than two)	Supreme Court	in front of the word "NO."
Bryce Kelderman	Shall the following judges of the Supreme	4
Paul Harrington	Court be retained in office?	I Shall the following amendment to the
(Write-in vote, if any)	Daryl L. Hecht	Constitution be adopted?
(Write-in vote, if any)	◯ Yes	Summary: Changes the language that
For Soil & Water Conservation	◯ No	describes a person who cannot legally vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a
District Commissioner (Vote for no more than three)	Brent Appel	person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote."
Jack Bensink	Yes	
■ Janet Petty	◯ No	the State of lowa is repealed and the following adopted in lieu thereof:
■ Vernon Boot	Mark S. Cady	DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A
(Write-in vote, if any)		person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote or a person convicted of any
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	infamous crime shall not be entitled to the
(Write-in vote, if any)	□ No	privilege of an elector. Yes
For County Agricultural Extension Council (Vote for no more than four)	Court of Appeals	No
■ Craig Greene	Shall the following judges of the Court of Appeals be retained in office?	
■ Cisha Jahner		
■ Nancy Harsin	Rosemary Shaw Sackett	
■ Caren M. Ackley	☐ Yes	
Cindi Dale	No	
(Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisenhauer	
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	
(Write-in vote, if any)	No	
(Write-in vote, if any)]
For County Agricultural Extension Council To Fill Vacancy	Terry L. Huitink	
(Vote for no more than one)	◯ Yes	
■	◯ No	
(Write-in vote, if any)	District 5A Court	
5	Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?	
	Dale B. Hagen	
•	Yes	
•	◯ No	
•	William H. Joy	
•	Yes	
•	◯ No	
•	•	1

TURN THE BALLOT OVER