Precinct Official's Initials

OFFICIAL BALLOT
GENERAL ELECTION
MARION COUNTY, IOWA
TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008

Jake Translin

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP

Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the lowa Constitution:

Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the center column.

Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column.

PARTISAN OFFICES

STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING

Straight party voting. To vote for all candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the party name. Not all parties have nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a straight party vote does not include votes for nonpartisan offices, judges or questions.

Straight Party Voting (Vote for no more than one)

- Democratic Party (DEM)
- □ Republican Party (REP)
- Socialist Workers Party (SWP)

OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS

The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office:

Constitution Party (CON)
Green Party (GRN)

Libertarian (LIB)

Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL)

Peace and Freedom (PAF)
Socialist Party USA (SPU)

FEDERAL OFFICES STATE OFFICES For President and Vice President For State Senator (Vote for no more than one team) District 36 (Vote for no more than one) Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware Deb Ballalatak (DEM) John McCain, of Arizona (REP) Paul McKinley (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska (Write-in vote, if any) Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) For State Representative Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee District 71 (Vote for no more than one) Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina → Pat Van Zante (DEM) Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada (Write-in vote, if any) Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) **COUNTY OFFICES** Robert Moses, of Maryland Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF) For Board of Supervisors Matt Gonzalez, of California

At Large (Vote for no more than two)

- Jerry James Weldon Sr. (DEM)
- Paul Kockler (DEM)
- Sam L Nichols (REP)
- ☐ Jim Kingery (REP)
 - $\overline{}$ (Write-in vote, if any)
 - (Write-in vote, if any)

For County Auditor

(Vote for no more than one)

- Jake Grandia (REP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

For United States Representative Third District

Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU)

Stewart A. Alexander, of California

James Harris, of California (SWP)

Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey

(Write-in vote for Vice President, if any)

For United States Senator

(Vote for no more than one)

(Write-in vote for President, if any)

(Vote for no more than one)

☐ Tom Harkin (DEM)

(Write-in vote, if any)

Christopher Reed (REP)

- Frank V Forrestal (SWP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

For County Sheriff

(Vote for no more than one)

- Tim Cox (DEM)
- - (Write-in vote, if any)

TURN THE BALLOT OVER

NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT	PUBLIC MEASURE
Franklin Township For Township Trustee	Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote upon any question submitted upon this ballot fill in the oval in front of the word "YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval
(Vote for no more than two)	Supreme Court	in front of the word "NO."
(Write-in vote, if any)		
(Write-in vote, if any)	Court be retained in office?	1
For Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioner	Daryl L. Hecht	Shall the following amendment to the Constitution be adopted?
(Vote for no more than three)	◯ Yes	Summary: Changes the language that
Jack Bensink	◯ No	describes a person who cannot legally vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a
Janet Petty	Brent Appel	person adjudged mentally incompetent to
Vernon Boot		vote."
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution of
(Write-in vote, if any)	○ No	the State of lowa is repealed and the following adopted in lieu thereof:
(Write-in vote, if any)	Mark S. Cady	DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A
For County Agricultural Extension Council		person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote or a person convicted of any
(Vote for no more than four)	Yes	infamous crime shall not be entitled to the
Craig Greene	○ No	privilege of an elector.
Kisha Jahner	Court of Appeals	
Nancy Harsin	Shall the following judges of the Court of	Yes
Karen M. Ackley	Appeals be retained in office?	◯ No
Cindi Dale	Rosemary Shaw Sackett	
(Write-in vote, if any)		
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	
(Write-in vote, if any)	○ No	
(Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisenhauer	
For County Agricultural Extension Council To Fill Vacancy	Yes	
(Vote for no more than one)	No	
☐ Mark Drost	·	
	Terry L. Huitink	
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	
	○ No	
	District 5A Court	
	Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?	
	Dale B. Hagen	
	Yes	
	□ No	
	William H. Joy	
	Yes	
	No	