Precinct Official's Initials

OFFICIAL BALLOT
GENERAL ELECTION
MARION COUNTY, IOWA
TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008

Jake Frankir

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

INDIANA TOWNSHIP

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this:

Write In: To vote for a write in condictor write the person's name on the line provided and darken to

Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the lowa Constitution:

Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the center column.

Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column.

Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM)

FEDERAL OFFICES

STATE OFFICES

For President and Vice President
(Vote for no more than one team)

District 36
(Vote for no more than one)

PARTISAN OFFICES

STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING

Straight party voting. To vote for all candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the party name. Not all parties have nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a straight party vote does not include votes for nonpartisan offices, judges or questions.

	Stra	iight	Party	Votin	g
	(Vote f	or no	more	than	one
_	_				

- Democratic Party (DEM)
- Republican Party (REP)
- Socialist Workers Party (SWP)

OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS

The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office:

Constitution Party (CON)
Green Party (GRN)
Libertarian (LIB)

Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL)

Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU)

Joe Biden, of Delaware Deb Ballalatak (DEM) John McCain, of Arizona (REP) Paul McKinley (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska (Write-in vote, if any) Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) For State Representative Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee District 72 (Vote for no more than one) Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina James Demichelis Jr. (DEM) Richard D. Arnold (REP) Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada (Write-in vote, if any) Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) **COUNTY OFFICES** Robert Moses, of Maryland Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF) For Board of Supervisors Matt Gonzalez, of California At Large (Vote for no more than two) Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU) Stewart A. Alexander, of California Paul Kockler (DEM) **☐ Jerry James Weldon Sr.** (DEM) James Harris, of California (SWP) Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey ☐ Jim Kingery (REP) **◯** Sam L Nichols (REP) (Write-in vote for President, if any) (Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote for Vice President, if any) (Write-in vote, if any) For United States Senator (Vote for no more than one) **For County Auditor** (Vote for no more than one) ☐ Tom Harkin (DEM) Christopher Reed (REP) ☐ Jake Grandia (REP) (Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote, if any) For United States Representative **For County Sheriff Third District** (Vote for no more than one) (Vote for no more than one) Tim Cox (DEM) ☐ Leonard L. Boswell (DEM) (Write-in vote, if any)

TURN THE BALLOT OVER

Frank V Forrestal (SWP)

(W<u>rite-in vote, if any)</u>

	NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT	Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote	
		Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	upon any question submitted upon this	
• [Indiana Township		ballot fill in the oval in front of the word	
	For Township Trustee (Vote for no more than two)	Supreme Court	"YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval in front of the word "NO."	
	Richard Lambirth	Shall the following judges of the Supreme	4	
	◯ E. John Smith	Court be retained in office?	Shall the following amendment to the	
		Daryl L. Hecht	Constitution be adopted?	
	Carlene Roland	◯ Yes	Summary: Changes the language that	
	(Write-in vote, if any)	◯ No	describes a person who cannot legally vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a	
•	(Write-in vote, if any)	Brent Appel	person adjudged mentally incompetent to	
	For Soil & Water Conservation		vote."	
	District Commissioner (Vote for no more than three)	Yes	Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution of	
	,	□ No	the State of lowa is repealed and the following adopted in lieu thereof:	
	Jack Bensink	Mark S. Cady	DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A person adjudged mentally incompetent to	
	 Janet Petty Vernon Boot	Yes	vote or a person convicted of any	
		□ No	infamous crime shall not be entitled to the privilege of an elector.	
	(Write-in vote, if any)		Yes	
	(Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote, if any)	Court of Appeals	No	
• [For County Agricultural Extension Council	Shall the following judges of the Court of Appeals be retained in office?		
	(Vote for no more than four)			
	Craig Greene	Rosemary Shaw Sackett		
	Cisha Jahner	☐ Yes		
	Nancy Harsin	◯ No		
		Larry J. Eisenhauer		
	○ Cindi Dale			
	(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes		
	(Write-in vote, if any)	No		
	(Write-in vote, if any)	Terry L. Huitink		
] ∎	(Write-in vote, if any)	◯ Yes		
	For County Agricultural Extension Council To Fill Vacancy	│ ○ No		
	(Vote for no more than one)	District 5A Court		
•	(Write-in vote, if any)	Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?		
		Dale B. Hagen		
		Yes		
		○ No]	
		William H. Joy		
		Yes		
		◯ No		
			-	

TURN THE BALLOT OVER