Jake Franchin County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

OFFICIAL BALLOT GENERAL ELECTION MARION COUNTY, IOWA TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008 KNOXVILLE ONE

Precinct Official's Initials

INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this: Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

| Where to find the judges and proposed | FEDERAL OFFICES | STATE OFFICES |
|---|---|---|
| amendment to the Iowa Constitution: | | |
| Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the center column. | For President and Vice President | For State Senator |
| Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column. | (Vote for no more than one team) | District 36 (Vote for no more than one) |
| | Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware | |
| PARTISAN OFFICES | John McCain, of Arizona (REP) | Deb Ballalatak (DEM) Paul McKinley (REP) |
| | Sarah Palin, of Alaska | |
| STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING | Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) | (Write-in vote, if any) |
| Straight party voting. To vote for all candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in | Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee | For State Representative District 71 |
| front of the party name. Not all parties have | Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) | (Vote for no more than one) |
| nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a straight party vote does not include votes for | Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina | Pat Van Zante (DEM) |
| nonpartisan offices, judges or questions. | Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) | Jim Van Engelenhoven (REP) |
| Straight Party Voting | Wayne A. Root, of Nevada | (Write-in vote, if any) |
| (Vote for no more than one) | Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) Robert Moses, of Maryland | COUNTY OFFICES |
| Democratic Party (DEM) Demublican Party (PEP) | Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF) | |
| Republican Party (REP) Socialist Workers Party (SWP) | Matt Gonzalez, of California | For Board of Supervisors At Large |
| OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS | Brian Moore , of Florida (SPU) | (Vote for no more than two) |
| | Stewart A. Alexander, of California | Jerry James Weldon Sr. (DEM) |
| The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office: | James Harris, of California (SWP) | Paul Kockler (DEM) |
| | Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey | Sam L Nichols (REP) |
| Constitution Party (CON) Green Party (GRN) | (Write-in vote for President, if any) | Jim Kingery (REP) |
| Libertarian (LIB) | (Write-in vote for Vice President, if any) | (Write-in vote, if any) |
| Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL) | For United States Senator (Vote for no more than one) | Write-in vote, if any) |
| Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU) | | For County Auditor (Vote for no more than one) |
| | Christopher Reed (REP) | Jake Grandia (REP) |
| | (Write-in vote, if any) | (Write-in vote, if any) |
| | For United States Representative | For County Sheriff |
| | Third District (Vote for no more than one) | (Vote for no more than one) |
| | C Leonard L. Boswell (DEM) | Ronald Goemaat (REP) |
| | Kim Schmett (REP) | (Write-in vote, if any) |
| | Frank V Forrestal (SWP) | (שותכיהו עסוכ, ה מוץ) |
| | (Write-in vote, if any) | |

TURN THE BALLOT OVER

| NON PARTISAN OFFICES | JUDICIAL BALLOT Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling | PUBLIC MEASURE Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote |
|---|--|--|
| For Soil & Water Conservation | in the appropriate oval in front of each name. | upon any question submitted upon this ballot fill in the oval in front of the word "YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval |
| District Commissioner (Vote for no more than three) | Supreme Court | in front of the word "NO." |
| Jack Bensink | Shall the following judges of the Supreme Court be retained in office? | 1 Shell the following emendment to the |
| Janet Petty Vernon Boot | Daryl L. Hecht | Shall the following amendment to the Constitution be adopted? |
| ■ (Write-in vote, if any) | ◯ Yes | Summary: Changes the language that describes a person who cannot legally |
| (Write-in vote, if any) | No | vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a person adjudged mentally incompetent to |
| For County Agricultural Extension Council | Brent Appel | vote." |
| (Vote for no more than four) | | Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution of the State of Iowa is repealed and the |
| Craig Greene Kisha Jahner | No No | following adopted in lieu thereof: DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A |
| ■ O Nancy Harsin | Mark S. Cady | person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote or a person convicted of any |
| Karen M. Ackley Cindi Dale | ☐ Yes | infamous crime shall not be entitled to the |
| Cilici Dale (Write-in vote, if any) | No Court of Appeals | privilege of an elector. |
| ■ (Write-in vote, if any) | Shall the following judges of the Court of | ◯ No |
| (Write-in vote, if any) | Appeals be retained in office? | |
| For County Agricultural Extension Council | Rosemary Shaw Sackett | |
| To Fill Vacancy (Vote for no more than one) | | |
| Mark Drost | | |
| ■ (Write-in vote, if any) | Larry J. Eisenhauer | |
| | Yes No | |
| | Terry L. Huitink | |
| | ─ Yes─ No | |
| | District 5A Court | |
| | Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office? | |
| | Dale B. Hagen | |
| - | ⊂ Yes | |
| | | |
| - | William H. Joy | |
| | ◯ Yes◯ No | |
| - | | |
| | | |
| | | |

TURN THE BALLOT OVER