Precinct Official's

Jake Franchi

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

OFFICIAL BALLOT **GENERAL ELECTION** MARION COUNTY, IOWA **TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008** LAKE PRAIRIE TOWNSHIP

INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this:

Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution: Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning

in the center column.

Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column.

PARTISAN OFFICES

STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING

Straight party voting. To vote for all candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the party name. Not all parties have nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a straight party vote does not include votes for nonpartisan offices, judges or questions

Straight Party Voting (Vote for no more than one)

- Democratic Party (DEM)
- Republican Party (REP)
- Socialist Workers Party (SWP)

OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS

The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office:

Constitution Party (CON) Green Party (GRN) Libertarian (LIB)

Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL)

Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU)

FEDERAL OFFICES STATE OFFICES For President and Vice President For State Senator (Vote for no more than one team) District 36 (Vote for no more than one) Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware Deb Ballalatak (DEM) John McCain, of Arizona (REP) Paul McKinley (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska (Write-in vote, if any) Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) For State Representative Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee District 71 (Vote for no more than one) Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina → Pat Van Zante (DEM) Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada (Write-in vote, if any) Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) **COUNTY OFFICES** Robert Moses, of Maryland Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF) For Board of Supervisors Matt Gonzalez, of California At Large (Vote for no more than two) Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU) Stewart A. Alexander, of California Jerry James Weldon Sr. (DEM) James Harris, of California (SWP) ─ Paul Kockler (DEM)

For United States Representative **Third District**

Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey

(Write-in vote for Vice President, if any)

For United States Senator

(Vote for no more than one)

(Write-in vote for President, if any)

(Vote for no more than one)

- ☐ Leonard L. Boswell (DEM)

☐ Tom Harkin (DEM)

(Write-in vote, if any)

Christopher Reed (REP)

- Frank V Forrestal (SWP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

(Write-in vote, if any) **For County Sheriff**

For County Auditor

(Vote for no more than one)

(Vote for no more than one)

- Tim Cox (DEM)

Sam L Nichols (REP)

☐ Jim Kingery (REP)

(Write-in vote, if any)

(Write-in vote, if any)

☐ Jake Grandia (REP)

(Write-in vote, if any)

TURN THE BALLOT OVER

NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT	PUBLIC MEASURE Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote
•	Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	upon any question submitted upon this
Lake Prairie Township		ballot fill in the oval in front of the word "YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval
For Township Trustee (Vote for no more than two)	Supreme Court	in front of the word "NO."
■	Shall the following judges of the Supreme	4
Arvin Van Wyk	Court be retained in office?	I Shall the following amendment to the
(Write-in vote, if any)	Daryl L. Hecht	Constitution be adopted?
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	Summary: Changes the language that
For Soil & Water Conservation	◯ No	describes a person who cannot legally vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a
District Commissioner (Vote for no more than three)	Brent Appel	person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote."
■ Jack Bensink	◯ Yes	Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution o
■ Janet Petty	◯ No	the State of lowa is repealed and the
■ Vernon Boot	Mark S. Cady	following adopted in lieu thereof: DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A
(Write-in vote, if any)		person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote or a person convicted of any
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	infamous crime shall not be entitled to the
(Write-in vote, if any)	○ No	privilege of an elector.
For County Agricultural Extension Council (Vote for no more than four)	Court of Appeals	Yes No
■ Craig Greene	Shall the following judges of the Court of Appeals be retained in office?	
■ Cisha Jahner		
■ Nancy Harsin	Rosemary Shaw Sackett	
■ Caren M. Ackley	◯ Yes	
■ Cindi Dale	□ No	
(Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisenhauer	
(Write-in vote, if any)		
(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	
(Write-in vote, if any)	No]
For County Agricultural Extension Council To Fill Vacancy	Terry L. Huitink	
(Vote for no more than one)	◯ Yes	
■	□ No	
(Write-in vote, if any)	District 5A Court	
5	Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?	
	Dale B. Hagen	
•	Yes	
•	◯ No	
• -	William H. Joy	
.	Yes	
•		
•		1

TURN THE BALLOT OVER