Precinct Official's

# Jake Heandin

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

(Vote for no more than one)

**For County Sheriff** 

(Vote for no more than one)

☐ Jake Grandia (REP)

(Write-in vote, if any)

Tim Cox (DEM)

(Write-in vote, if any)

# OFFICIAL BALLOT **GENERAL ELECTION** MARION COUNTY, IOWA **TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008 PELLA TWO**

#### **INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS**

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this:

Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

# Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution:

Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the center column.

Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column.

#### PARTISAN OFFICES

#### **STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING**

Straight party voting. To vote for all candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the party name. Not all parties have nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a straight party vote does not include votes for nonpartisan offices, judges or questions

### **Straight Party Voting** (Vote for no more than one)

- Democratic Party (DEM)
- Republican Party (REP)
- Socialist Workers Party (SWP)

### OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS

The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office:

**Constitution Party (CON)** Green Party (GRN) Libertarian (LIB)

Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL)

Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU)

#### **FEDERAL OFFICES** STATE OFFICES For President and Vice President For State Senator (Vote for no more than one team) District 36 (Vote for no more than one) Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware Deb Ballalatak (DEM) John McCain, of Arizona (REP) Paul McKinley (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska (Write-in vote, if any) Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) For State Representative Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee District 71 (Vote for no more than one) Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina Pat Van Zante (DEM) Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada (Write-in vote, if any) Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) **COUNTY OFFICES** Robert Moses, of Maryland Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF) For Board of Supervisors Matt Gonzalez, of California At Large (Vote for no more than two) Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU) Stewart A. Alexander, of California Paul Kockler (DEM) **☐ Jerry James Weldon Sr.** (DEM) James Harris, of California (SWP) Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey **◯** Sam L Nichols (REP) (Write-in vote for President, if any) (Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote for Vice President, if any) (Write-in vote, if any) For United States Senator (Vote for no more than one) **For County Auditor**

# TURN THE BALLOT OVER

☐ Tom Harkin (DEM)

(Write-in vote, if any)

Christopher Reed (REP)

☐ Leonard L. Boswell (DEM)

Frank V Forrestal (SWP)

(Write-in vote, if any)

For United States Representative

**Third District** 

(Vote for no more than one)

NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT  Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	PUBLIC MEASURE  Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote upon any question submitted upon this
For Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioner (Vote for no more than three)	Supreme Court	ballot fill in the oval in front of the word "YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval in front of the word "NO."
Jack Bensink	Shall the following judges of the Supreme Court be retained in office?	1
<ul><li>Janet Petty</li><li>Vernon Boot</li></ul>	Daryl L. Hecht	Shall the following amendment to the Constitution be adopted?
(Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote, if any)	◯ Yes ◯ No	Summary: Changes the language that describes a person who cannot legally vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a
For County Agricultural Extension Council	Brent Appel	person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote."
(Vote for no more than four)  Craig Greene	◯ Yes ◯ No	Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution of the State of lowa is repealed and the following adopted in lieu thereof:
<ul><li>Kisha Jahner</li><li>Nancy Harsin</li></ul>	Mark S. Cady	DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote or a person convicted of any
<ul><li>Karen M. Ackley</li><li>Cindi Dale</li></ul>	◯ Yes ◯ No	infamous crime shall not be entitled to the privilege of an elector.
(Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote, if any)	Court of Appeals  Shall the following judges of the Court of	Yes No
(Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote, if any)	Appeals be retained in office?	
For County Agricultural Extension Council To Fill Vacancy (Vote for no more than one)	Rosemary Shaw Sackett  Yes  No	
Mark Drost  (Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisenhauer	
(white-in vote, it duty)	Yes No	
	Terry L. Huitink	
	◯ Yes ◯ No	
S	District 5A Court  Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?	
	Dale B. Hagen	
	◯ Yes ◯ No	
	William H. Joy	

# **TURN THE BALLOT OVER**