Precinct Official's

Jake Heandin

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

## OFFICIAL BALLOT **GENERAL ELECTION** MARION COUNTY, IOWA **TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008** PLEASANT GROVE TOWNSHIP

#### **INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS**

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this:

Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

## Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution:

Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the center column.

Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column.

#### PARTISAN OFFICES

#### **STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING**

Straight party voting. To vote for all candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the party name. Not all parties have nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a straight party vote does not include votes for nonpartisan offices, judges or questions

## **Straight Party Voting** (Vote for no more than one)

- Democratic Party (DEM)
- Republican Party (REP)
- Socialist Workers Party (SWP)

#### OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS

The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office:

**Constitution Party (CON)** Green Party (GRN)

Libertarian (LIB)

Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL)

Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU)

# **FEDERAL OFFICES**

#### For President and Vice President (Vote for no more than one team)

- Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware
- John McCain, of Arizona (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska
- Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee
- Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina
- Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada
- Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) Robert Moses, of Maryland
- Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF) Matt Gonzalez, of California
- Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU) Stewart A. Alexander, of California
- James Harris, of California (SWP) Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey
- (Write-in vote for President, if any)

(Write-in vote for Vice President, if any)

#### For United States Senator (Vote for no more than one)

- ☐ Tom Harkin (DEM)
- Christopher Reed (REP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

## For United States Representative **Third District**

(Vote for no more than one)

- ☐ Leonard L. Boswell (DEM)
- Frank V Forrestal (SWP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

### **STATE OFFICES**

#### For State Senator District 36

(Vote for no more than one)

- Deb Ballalatak (DEM)
- Paul McKinley (REP)

(Write-in vote, if any)

## For State Representative District 71

(Vote for no more than one)

- → Pat Van Zante (DEM)
- - (Write-in vote, if any)

## **COUNTY OFFICES**

## For Board of Supervisors At Large

(Vote for no more than two)

- Jerry James Weldon Sr. (DEM)
- ─ Paul Kockler (DEM)
- Sam L Nichols (REP)
- - (Write-in vote, if any)
  - (Write-in vote, if any)

## **For County Auditor**

(Vote for no more than one)

- ☐ Jake Grandia (REP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

## **For County Sheriff**

(Vote for no more than one)

- Tim Cox (DEM)
  - → Ronald Goemaat (REP)
  - (Write-in vote, if any)

## **TURN THE BALLOT OVER**

	NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT	Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote
		<b>Notice to voters:</b> Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	upon any question submitted upon this
	Pleasant Grove Township		ballot fill in the oval in front of the word
	For Township Trustee	Supreme Court	"YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval in front of the word "NO."
	(Vote for no more than two)	Supreme Court	in none of the word 140.
	◯ Jeff Anderson	Shall the following judges of the Supreme	4
		Court be retained in office?	I   Shall the following amendment to the
	(Write-in vote, if any)	Daryl L. Hecht	Constitution be adopted?
	(Write-in vote, if any)  For Soil & Water Conservation	Yes	Summary: Changes the language that
	District Commissioner	│ ○ No	describes a person who cannot legally
	(Vote for no more than three)	Brent Annal	vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a person adjudged mentally incompetent to
	Jack Bensink	Brent Appel	vote."
	Janet Petty	Yes	   Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution o
	── Vernon Boot	│ ○ No	the State of Iowa is repealed and the
		Mark C. Cadu	following adopted in lieu thereof:  DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A
	(Write-in vote, if any)	Mark S. Cady	person adjudged mentally incompetent to
	(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	vote or a person convicted of any
	(Write-in vote, if any)	No	infamous crime shall not be entitled to the privilege of an elector.
	For County Agricultural Extension Council (Vote for no more than four)	_	Yes
	Craig Greene	Court of Appeals	No
	── Kisha Jahner	Shall the following judges of the Court of	
	◯ Nancy Harsin	Appeals be retained in office?	
	C Karen M. Ackley	Rosemary Shaw Sackett	
	Cindi Dale	Yes	
	(Write-in vote, if any)	□ No	
	(Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisenhauer	]
	(Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisernauer	
	(Write-in vote, if any)	Yes	
	For County Agricultural Extension Council	○ No	
	To Fill Vacancy	Terry L. Huitink	
	(Vote for no more than one)	Terry E. Hullink	
	◯ Mark Drost	◯ Yes	
	(Write-in vote, if any)	◯ No	
	(White in vote, it dity)	District 5A Court	
		Shall the following judges of the District 5A	
		Court be retained in office?	
		Dale B. Hagen	
		Yes	
_		○ No	
_			]
		William H. Joy	
		◯ Yes	
		◯ No	
			1

# **TURN THE BALLOT OVER**