Jake Heandhi

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

## OFFICIAL BALLOT GENERAL ELECTION MARION COUNTY, IOWA TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008 UNION TOWNSHIP

Precinct Official's Initials

## **INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS**

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this: . Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution:	FEDERAL OFFICES	STATE OFFICES
Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the center column. Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column.	For President and Vice President (Vote for no more than one team) Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware	For State Senator District 36 (Vote for no more than one) Deb Ballalatak (DEM)
PARTISAN OFFICES STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING	John McCain, of Arizona (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska	Paul McKinley (REP)     (Write-in vote, if any)
<b>Straight party voting.</b> To vote for all candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the party name. Not all parties have nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a straight party vote does not include votes for nonpartisan offices, judges or questions.	<ul> <li>Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee</li> <li>Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina</li> <li>Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB)</li> </ul>	For State Representative District 71 (Vote for no more than one) Pat Van Zante (DEM) Jim Van Engelenhoven (REP)
Straight Party Voting (Vote for no more than one) Democratic Party (DEM)	Wayne A. Root, of Nevada Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) Robert Moses, of Maryland	(Write-in vote, if any)
<ul> <li>Republican Party (REP)</li> <li>Socialist Workers Party (SWP)</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF)</li> <li>Matt Gonzalez, of California</li> <li>Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU)</li> </ul>	For Board of Supervisors At Large (Vote for no more than two)
OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office:	Stewart A. Alexander, of California James Harris, of California (SWP) Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey	Jerry James Weldon Sr. (DEM) Paul Kockler (DEM) Sam L Nichols (REP)
Constitution Party (CON) Green Party (GRN) Libertarian (LIB) Party for Socialism and Liberation	(Write-in vote for President, if any) (Write-in vote for Vice President, if any) For United States Senator	Jim Kingery (REP)     (Write-in vote, if any)     (Write-in vote, if any)
(PSL) Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU)	(Vote for no more than one) Tom Harkin (DEM) Christopher Reed (REP)	For County Auditor (Vote for no more than one) Jake Grandia (REP)
	Write-in vote, if any)         For United States Representative         Third District	(Write-in vote, if any)
	Third District (Vote for no more than one)	(Vote for no more than one)
	Leonard L. Boswell (DEM) Kim Schmett (REP) Frank V Forrestal (SWP)	Ronald Goemaat (REP)     (Write-in vote, if any)
	(Write-in vote, if any)	

## **TURN THE BALLOT OVER**

NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT	PUBLIC MEASURE
_	Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling	<b>Notice to voters:</b> For an affirmative vote upon any question submitted upon this
	in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	ballot fill in the oval in front of the word
Union Township For Township Trustee		"YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval
(Vote for no more than two)	Supreme Court	in front of the word "NO."
Frank Schumacher	Shall the following judges of the Supreme	1
Henry Bensink	Court be retained in office?	Shall the following amendment to the
	Daryl L. Hecht	Constitution be adopted?
(Write-in vote, if any)		Summary: Changes the language that
(Write-in vote, if any)     For Soil & Water Conservation		describes a person who cannot legally
District Commissioner	Pront Appel	vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a person adjudged mentally incompetent to
(Vote for no more than three)	Brent Appel	vote."
Jack Bensink		Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution of
Janet Petty		the State of Iowa is repealed and the
■ Vernon Boot	Mark S. Cady	following adopted in lieu thereof: DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A
(Write-in vote, if any)		person adjudged mentally incompetent to
(Write-in Vote, if any)		vote or a person convicted of any infamous crime shall not be entitled to the
(Write-in Vote, if any)	📗 🗔 No	privilege of an elector.
For County Agricultural Extension Council	Court of Appeals	Yes
(Vote for no more than four)		No
Craig Greene	Shall the following judges of the Court of	
Kisha Jahner	Appeals be retained in office?	
Nancy Harsin	Rosemary Shaw Sackett	
Karen M. Ackley		
Cindi Dale		
(Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisenhauer	
(Write-in vote, if any)		
(Write-in Vote, if any)	Yes	
(Write-in vote, if any)	No	
For County Agricultural Extension Council	Terry L. Huitink	
To Fill Vacancy		
(Vote for no more than one)	⊂ Yes	
Mark Drost	│	
(Write-in vote, if any)	District 5A Court	
-		
_	Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?	
	Dala R. Hagan	
-	Dale B. Hagen	
-		
-	<u>No</u>	
	William H. Joy	
-		
-		
-	No	
-		

## **TURN THE BALLOT OVER**