Precinct Official's

Jake Franchi

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

## OFFICIAL BALLOT **GENERAL ELECTION** MARION COUNTY, IOWA **TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008 WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP**

### **INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS**

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this:

Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

## Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution: Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning

in the center column.

Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column.

## PARTISAN OFFICES

#### STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING

Straight party voting. To vote for all candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the party name. Not all parties have nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a straight party vote does not include votes for nonpartisan offices, judges or questions

## **Straight Party Voting** (Vote for no more than one)

- Democratic Party (DEM)
- Republican Party (REP)
- Socialist Workers Party (SWP)

## OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS

The following organizations have nominated candidates for only one office:

**Constitution Party (CON)** Green Party (GRN) Libertarian (LIB)

Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL)

Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU)

## **FEDERAL OFFICES**

### For President and Vice President (Vote for no more than one team)

- Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware
- John McCain, of Arizona (REP) Sarah Palin, of Alaska
- Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON) Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee
- Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN) Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina
- Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada
- Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) Robert Moses, of Maryland
- Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF) Matt Gonzalez, of California
- Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU) Stewart A. Alexander, of California
- James Harris, of California (SWP) Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey
- (Write-in vote for President, if any)

(Write-in vote for Vice President, if any)

## For United States Senator (Vote for no more than one)

- ☐ Tom Harkin (DEM)
- Christopher Reed (REP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

## For United States Representative **Third District**

(Vote for no more than one)

- ☐ Leonard L. Boswell (DEM)
- Frank V Forrestal (SWP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

### **STATE OFFICES**

#### For State Senator District 36

(Vote for no more than one)

- Deb Ballalatak (DEM)
- Paul McKinley (REP)
  - (Write-in vote, if any)

## For State Representative District 72

(Vote for no more than one)

- James Demichelis Jr. (DEM)
- Richard D. Arnold (REP)
  - (Write-in vote, if any)

## **COUNTY OFFICES**

## For Board of Supervisors At Large

(Vote for no more than two)

- Paul Kockler (DEM)
- **☐** Jerry James Weldon Sr. (DEM)
- **◯** Sam L Nichols (REP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

## **For County Auditor**

(Vote for no more than one)

- ☐ Jake Grandia (REP)
- (Write-in vote, if any)

## **For County Sheriff**

(Vote for no more than one)

- Tim Cox (DEM)
- - (Write-in vote, if any)

# **TURN THE BALLOT OVER**

| NON PARTISAN OFFICES   | JUDICIAL BALLOT  | PUBLIC MEASURE  Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote                                   |
|--|--|---|
| •  | <b>Notice to voters:</b> Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval in front of each name. | upon any question submitted upon this   |
| Washington Township  |  | ballot fill in the oval in front of the word<br>"YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval |
| For Township Trustee (Vote for no more than two)                       | Supreme Court  | in front of the word "NO."  |
| John Pierce  | Shall the following judges of the Supreme  |   |
| Joy Pierce   | Court be retained in office?   | 1   Shall the following amendment to the  |
|  | Daryl L. Hecht   | Constitution be adopted?  |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  | Yes  | Summary: Changes the language that  |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  For Soil & Water Conservation                 | No   | describes a person who cannot legally   |
| District Commissioner  | Brent Appel  | vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a person adjudged mentally incompetent to            |
| (Vote for no more than three)  | Breitt Appel   | vote."  |
| Jack Bensink   | ◯ Yes  | Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution o   |
| Janet Petty  | ◯ No   | the State of lowa is repealed and the   |
| ■ Vernon Boot  | Mark S. Cady   | following adopted in lieu thereof:  DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A                         |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  |  | person adjudged mentally incompetent to   |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  | Yes  | vote or a person convicted of any infamous crime shall not be entitled to the               |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  | ◯ No   | privilege of an elector.  |
| For County Agricultural Extension Council (Vote for no more than four) | Court of Appeals   | Yes No  |
| Craig Greene   | Shall the following judges of the Court of   |   |
| Kisha Jahner   | Appeals be retained in office?   |   |
| ■ Nancy Harsin   | Rosemary Shaw Sackett  |   |
| Karen M. Ackley  | Yes  |   |
| ■ Cindi Dale   | □ No   |   |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  | Larry J. Eisenhauer  |   |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  |  |   |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  | Yes  |   |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  | ○ No   |   |
| For County Agricultural Extension Council                              | Terry L. Huitink   |   |
| To Fill Vacancy (Vote for no more than one)                            |  |   |
| ☐ Mark Drost   | ◯ Yes<br>◯ No  |   |
| - Mark Drost   |  | ]   |
| (Write-in vote, if any)  | District 5A Court  |   |
|  | Shall the following judges of the District 5A Court be retained in office?                           |   |
|  | Dale B. Hagen  |   |
| •  | ◯ Yes  |   |
| •  | ◯ No   |   |
| •  | William H. Joy   |   |
| •  | Yes  |   |
| •  | □ No   |   |
| •  |  | 1   |

# **TURN THE BALLOT OVER**